Scrap taming

I mentioned a few months ago my growing scrap pile. Well you can imagine how big it must be now with all the preparation sewing I’ve been doing recently. It is overflowing yet again. My local quilt shop (and I’m sure many other quilt shops) offer “scrap tamers” or “scrap busters” events where people try to get that scrap pile under control by making quilts and other things. That was the idea behind this quilt (which is still in process) and this one (which I apparently never blogged about?).

I looked at my giant scrap pile and decided something must be done. I took out pattern pieces for the three smallest items I have and went through every last bit a lot of the fabric cutting out lots of pieces. Here is what I ended up with:

a bunch of cup cozies…

My machine has a number of fancy stitches, but I’m afraid most of them are just weird. The few I do like are pretty cool.  I like matching the fabric, thread color, and fancy stitch.

A bunch of sunglasses cases…

and a bunch of mice hot pads.

I ended up with some good ones in this batch. Hard to pick my favorite.

Speaking of these mice, a pair of them will be in an upcoming giveaway! Stay tuned for the details, but I can tell you the contest will be open from August 19 to September 1. I’m not sure if any of these mice will be available – but there will be more and they will be just as cute.

Alright, back to sewing!

Leave a Reply

