Chickens galore

I’ve been sewing a lot in the last month or so – building up for the 21st annual Powderhorn Art Fair. I’m pretty excited about the fair. It’s a great weekend with tons of people in a beautiful setting and lots of great artists. Hope you will be there!

Anyway, I made a bunch of chicken toaster covers last week. (This isn’t even half of them!) I kind of want them all to sell… but then again it would be nice if I didn’t have to make any more till next year. It’s a dilemma.  =)

we’re excited to protect your toaster!

Which gets me to thinking about chickens… At some point recently I was thinking I should have called my business The Ubiquitous Chicken… instead of From the Homestead. I mean, neither one is particularly descriptive of anything so that doesn’t matter. And The Ubiquitous Chicken is kind of fun. But how many people can pronounce (or want to try pronouncing) “ubiquitous”?  And spelling it? Ugh. It’s still there in the back of my mind though, partly since I make so many chicken-y things. There are the toaster covers, tea cozies, occasional tote bags and other items with chicken prints, etc.  Hmm, and now it seems I’m sort of branding my blog and Etsy shop with one of those (ubiquitous) chickens. I can’t help it! He’s just so cute!

We are surrounded by real chickens as well. Last weekend we had a birthday party for Jeremy. A bunch of us, family, friends and neighbors, were sitting and standing around in the kitchen (where ALL party-goers end up) and the conversation quickly fell to chicken talk. How did the chickens handle the heat; what do they eat; who has new chicks; who has a rooster; etc. Suddenly Jeremy interrupted the conversation and asked people in the room who had chickens to raise their hands. All but 2 people raised their hands! It was hysterical. Then one of our non-chicken neighbors started singing that ditty about “which of these things just doesn’t belong…”  (We’ll convince her to get chickens one of these days…)

So, chickens abound. But… I just don’t know. The Ubiquitous Chicken? What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Chickens galore

  1. You can always see what I have available in my Etsy shop: aimeeshomestead.etsy.com. I’ve got one yellow toaster cozy at the moment; but keep checking for more, or ask for the particular color you want! =)

Leave a Reply

