New quilts, another market, and plans

Oops, I guess I forgot to post here that I was going to be a the Powderhorn Art Fair! I did mention it a couple times, so I’m sure none of you were caught off guard. The fair was amazing: great weather, lots of people, great artists. It was really fun and I look forward to doing it again next year.

I took a little bit of a break after the Fair was over. I had been sewing like a maniac for weeks in advance and it sure felt nice to not sew for a couple days. But of course it didn’t take more than that for me to feel the call of the fabric. First I realized I needed to make more sheep cozies because they are flying like hotcakes! They sell almost as fast as I make them. I’ve got five made up right now, and they’ll be at the Farmers Market this weekend.
Second, I was thinking about our local coffee cafe and the art installations they always have on the walls. I’ve thought a few times about whether I could do something there, but they usually have photography or paintings or other paper-based art. A couple weeks ago a show went up of fabric art and it looks pretty good. I felt inspired! And I’ve got plenty of time to create things because they have a waiting list till 2013 for showing on the walls there! I’ve really enjoyed the two “stained glass” quilts I made last year so I decided to make a different one, all with bright batik fabrics. I really, really like the way it has turned out so far!

The day before the Art Fair I finished this next quilt. I started this months ago with leftover bits from a similar quilt I made last year. I like the way this one turned out too.

Come find me at the Midtown Farmers Market this Saturday (August 20) and see what all I’ve got!

Leave a Reply

