Midtown Farmers Market

The Midtown Farmers Market in south Minneapolis gets underway this week, with Saturday markets starting on May 7.

The Midtown is a fun neighborhood market with arts & crafts, lots of veggies and fruits, excellent food vendors, music every Saturday, and kids activities. It has a great neighborhood feel to me – it’s really our neighborhood market. You won’t find obnoxious corporate sponsorships and fruit from Mexico or California. It is definitely a local/regional market.

I’ll be there as a craft vendor throughout the summer, but not every weekend. Right now I’m pretty sure I’ll be there May 21, June 4 and 18, July 2, 16, and 30th. But I’ll post each week so folks know if I’ll be there or not.

I had a decent season last year for my first year, and I’m looking forward to another year at the market. What most crafters and artists will tell you is true: the easy part is making your craft or art, the hard part is figuring out how to display things! I think we never truly figure it out, it is always in process. Every week I would think of a different, new, better (or worse!) way to display things.

Pay attention to this the next time you’re at a craft fair, art fair, etc. People put a lot of time and energy into how things are displayed. I guess my hope is that people won’t buy things if they really don’t need them (for themselves or as a gift for someone else). For those who are looking for a gift or a particular item there is a whole psychology around what attracts them to your tent, what makes them stick around and look at things, and what makes them purchase something.   And I totally don’t understand it. But if you are a crafter and have ever worked an art show or art fair, your stories of interesting customer behavior are not unique!

Hmm, this is a very interesting topic (at least to me!). I’ll have to come back to this soon.

In the meantime – mark your calendars! Midtown Farmers Market, Saturdays, 8am to 1pm!

One thought on “Midtown Farmers Market

  1. This is a neat-looking blogsite. It’s so true about displays – I remembered that at the earth fair, not having done any for a long time. I thought yours at the fair last weekend was especially nice; the tree helped! Vertical interest is great. Good luck on the farmers market!

Leave a Reply

